Homemakers challenge

I came upon the HOMEmakers challenge while cleaning out my saved tabs. Oh – Right up my alley and exactly on point to what I am trying to do. This will make me accountable to maintaining progress and write about it too. YAY!

This weeks challenge is to implement one item from my schedule.

My 1 item is getting up at 6 a.m. each and every single day. There is no sleeping in as that just makes getting up the next day that much more difficult.

This is foundational for my family because it will give me the opportunity to have my devotional/worship/prayer time and prepare mentally for a successful, peaceful day raising my children and keepin the home while still enjoying some crafting time.

The challenges that have cause failure for me is that I get up when the children get up so that starts the day off “late” and a bit stressful. I end up not having a focus for my day and waste the day on the computer and reacting to my children instead of being proactive with them and the housework. This then leads to me staying up way too late trying to gain a sense of accomplishment from the day by cleaning and doing my crafting. This then leads to me sleeping in again and starting the whole process over again.

What I need to move forward and get this change implemented is accountability and persistence. I also need to be in bed no later then 11 p.m. each and every night.

About madebyalh

I am a daughter of God, military spouse, mother of two and one who must do some sort of crafty thing daily.
This entry was posted in Homemaking and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Homemakers challenge

  1. aurie says:

    Hi! I blogged about the same thing – getting up at 6am is HARD!! Great goal to work on!

    • madebyalh says:

      I failed all of last week and so far this week. I’ll be posting about this is in just a little while.

      How are you doing with it?

  2. Anne says:

    Wow, I hear ya. My day goes miles and miles better when I am up and going when the kids start waking up. Glad I’m not the only one!

    • madebyalh says:

      Thanks for the comment! Do you find it really challenging to get up though? I have a hard time leaving my bed. Going to work on this again this week also.

Leave a Reply

