Scrapbooking views challenged

It all started years ago with a little stamp and ink at a home party my cousin hosted. I ordered said stamp and ink and walked away from my wish list. The money wasn’t there to buy much else so I didn’t want to get started in something that I couldn’t afford at the time. I bought a bookplate stamp so that I could mark ownership of my books in case I were to loan them out.

A few weeks later, a package gets handed to me…..a bunch of stamps, inks and paper! Um – what? LOL! My husband had been in contact with my cousin and worked somethings out behind my back. That my friends is how it got started. First, with just cards then came scrapbook pages. Oh, the fun of it all!!

Those scrapbook pages needed books and an organizational plan. I decided to do chronological organization. We didn’t have children at the time so I just scrapped life with my animals and extended family. This worked fine until I had 2 children. I do not want to do 3 copies of a layout for 3 different albums. This brings in these books by Stacy JulianThe Big Picture: Scrapbook Your life and whole lot more” and  “Photo Freedom (Simple Scrapbooks)”

Those books have changed my view of scrapbooking. I now have books for both of my children, about our friends, about us, about our travels and about our holidays. This makes scrapbooking so much easier and fresh for me. I’m also working on an about me album and about my husbands military career. I love that I can choose what format I want to scrap in. I can do whatever size for each project or just choose to do small albums.

I’ll be sharing photos of my albums as soon as I get more page protectors and all the layouts put in their books.

How do your seperate your layouts and scrapbook albums?

About madebyalh

I am a daughter of God, military spouse, mother of two and one who must do some sort of crafty thing daily.
This entry was posted in Craftiness, Scrapbooking. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Scrapbooking views challenged

  1. Brief Lives says:

    http://theirlifewastooshort.blogspot.com/

    Thank you for popping by my blogfrog community.

  2. aurie says:

    Hi 🙂 I am a chronological scrapper. At times it’s nuts, but that’s how I like it 🙂 I do a yearly family album, an yearly album for each girl, and a vacation album. I’d like to point out that while this looks impressive, I haven’t done any pages in about 3 weeks!!

    I scrap 12×12 for the family album and the girls are 8.5×11. I make page kits when I get photos developed, so that when I have an hour I can sit and scrap a layout or two. I also (finally) let go of havig everything “perfectly” on the page. That was hard for me!

    I’ve read both books and really liked them! Great picks 🙂 Can’t wait to see some pages!

    • madebyalh says:

      Thanks for sharing Aurie! I still scrap Chronological for the most part. I just love how the layouts are divided up now. It is hard letting go of perfectionism on my layouts also. I’ll be sharing what other books I use soon. I’m going to make it a goal to get layouts posted this week and a blog post about what books I use to create my layouts.

      Have a great week!

Leave a Reply

