Overwhelmed

I’ve been feeling rather overwhelmed as of late. I’ve been trying to change things about myself, working on getting cleaning routines in place and still being a wife, mother, crafter and servant in my church. Let’s just say that adds up to a whole lot of things on the to do list. When I get overwhelmed, I freeze and get stuck. So instead of getting 1 little thing done here or there, I manage to get nothing done on the to do list.

As I was checking my email this morning I saw an email from Simplify 101. The email was about being overwhelmed. You can check out the blog post here. I am so thankful for this timely email. It was perfect for me this morning. I did what the email suggests, which was a complete brain dump of every single thing that I think needs my attention. Phew, that is a long list! Now, I’m going to focus on the following statement: “I will get more done if I focus on one things at a time.”

How do you deal with being overwhelmed? Do you have a favorite method for keeping track of your to do’s and completed items? I’d love to hear about your way of handling things.

About madebyalh

I am a daughter of God, military spouse, mother of two and one who must do some sort of crafty thing daily.
This entry was posted in Homemaking. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Overwhelmed

  1. Angela says:

    Hey Annie. I completely understand feeling overwhelmed. I have had migraines off and on for several weeks now, and they make it very hard for me to do anything at all. You asked how we deal with being overwhelmed. I am a list maker. I need a list for work and a list for home. I use http://www.750words.com to do word dumps quite frequently. It’s a site that can help establish a writing habit in our lives. πŸ™‚ I mainly use it every few days to just word dump and get the jumbled mess in my head out so I can get it organized somewhat.

    I also use a technique called Heart Math that has helped me learn how to not let adrenaline and cortisol rule my life. There is a lot of clinical evidence that we can control our overreactions to things by retraining those reactions. Have you ever read the book Boundaries? It has a statement in it that changed how I thought about situations. It states that we are in control of our FAB, our feelings, attitudes and behaviors. We feel like we aren’t in control, or blame others for how we feel. But we really can learn that we are in charge of our FAB. The book is by 2 great Christian authors, Henry Cloud and John Townsend. You can probably get it at the library.

    I blogged about this last year, and I still get overwhelmed sometimes. But it’s nice to have tools I have found that help me. Hope some of these suggestions can help you, or at least give you some ideas for yourself. Love the Creative Organizing site, that’s new to me so thanks for the introduction. πŸ™‚ Hope you have a wonderful weekend. Angela

    • madebyalh says:

      Thank you so much for sharing how you’ve dealt with the feelings of being overwhelmed. I will certainly be looking into that book and website for sure!! I like that idea about FAB. Makes me want to read that book so much more.

      Glad I could share a site with you! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

