What procrastination does to me

Good Monday to you all! I’ve been reflecting on they day I had yesterday. I’m thinking about why I ran out of patience with my children much too quickly. I’m pondering on why I wasn’t organized or feeling at peace with the Adventurers club meeting that I lead in the afternoon. The following are my thoughts, reflections and what I learned:

When I wait until the same day of an Adventurers club meeting,

  • I do not have the time to properly discipline my children.
  • I feel amazing amounts of pressure while getting easily frustrated when the printer gives me any kind of error.
  • I do not eat properly which means my patience level is very decreased and my ability to concentrate is hindered also.
  • My house becomes more of a disaster area because I do not have the time to pick up after myself while creating projects and games for the club meeting.
  • I run late to set up for the meeting which leaves me to have to do things while the meeting is going on. This means that I am not able to be fully engaged with the children.
  • Last, but not least – I am left to clean up a huge mess after the meeting due to having my focus split in too many directions during the meeting.

I know I learned a whole lot from yesterday. My action plan is now as follows:

Mondays are now going to be set aside for Adventurer club meeting planning. This gives me plenty of time to get supplies for snack and craft time. I also will be able to walk my son through the meeting at home, a sort of rehearsal if you will. This helps me to work out kinks and helps him to know what is going to happen at the meetings. (He has a bit of a problem with new situations and will usually act out if he’s feeling overwhelmed.)

Have you been in this kind of a situation where procrastination really hindered a good outcome?

P.S. Thankfully the children did not notice my craziness. I’ve heard reports from parents that the children had fun. They all look forward to the next meeting in 2 weeks.

About madebyalh

I am a daughter of God, military spouse, mother of two and one who must do some sort of crafty thing daily.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What procrastination does to me

  1. Angela says:

    Kids are very forgiving anyway most of the time, it’s forgiving ourselves we have the most trouble with. Glad you have a plan to help you not feel overwhelmed with your next meeting, sounds like a great idea to have a dry run with your son. I use to run a children’s Sunday School group, and had a bad habit of waiting too late to finish my prep too. Like I said, kids usually are more forgiving than we are, and I am glad for that. I did get better at prepping myself. You will too. Sounds like the kids had a great time. 🙂 From what I see in your blog you are very creative. Hope you have a wonderful week dear.

    • madebyalh says:

      Thank you for your words of encouragement! I am so thankful they are forgiving but I do see some attitudes in my son that are learned directly from me. This is not good.

      Thank you! I hope your week is very blessed also!

Leave a Reply

