Finding our “normal” again

We had visitors here for 6 days. During 2 of those days, my boys and I went out of town with our guests. I love having house guests. I love opening my home and hopefully sharing our love and hospitality. For some reason, recovering from this visit has been harder. I feel like I’m trying to pedal and get back on to the road out of the mud yet I’m going no where. I’m frustrated by this which leads me to feeling annoyed and behind where I should be. Thing is – there is not one person telling me where I need to be or what I need to be doing. This is all in my head.

What am I going to do with this? Hop off the bike and walk back to the pavement today. I will take intentional steps to getting our “normal” back in this house. This is my top priority. I will not be productive in any good measure if I continue to sit spinning my wheels.

  • I will start on whatever day that I left off on the 31 days to clean. I will not try to catch up in one day on this challenge.
  • I will be present in whatever activity I am partaking in right at that moment, not thinking ahead to what is to be done next.
  • I will take time to be with God, first thing so that my day is put in His control.

What do you do when these feels come up? Do you have any suggestions?

About madebyalh

I am a daughter of God, military spouse, mother of two and one who must do some sort of crafty thing daily.
This entry was posted in Homemaking and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Finding our “normal” again

  1. Angela says:

    I just want to say I am very impressed by your decision, and proud of you! Good for you for not beating yourself up over things you shouldn’t. The challenge is still there, and the point of it is to help you, not give you something else to beat yourself up about, so bravo! for recognizing you are putting those pressures on yourself. Nice job!

    I love to have friends over too, but don’t have room to have them stay with me. You made it sound simple and fun. Sometimes when I do have people over I put too much pressure on myself to have things a ‘certain’ way. I use to get very upset when I had to deviate from my plans too, but now I know it’s the time I spend with them not the food or things that make it special. Good food always enhances things, but we can enjoy ourselves over a cup of tea and a couple of cookies too. πŸ™‚

    I’ve been very busy of late myself, not done too much blogging. It’s nice to catch up with you dear. You are doing great! Have a good week, and remember to keep being nice to my friend (you) ;)…..Angela

    • madebyalh says:

      Thank you Angela! It’s hard not succumbing to those pressures of doing things on someone else’s time frame. For the moment, I have learned that this is my house that I am blessed to have because of God. I am the woman of the house and I decide what needs to be done when. Phew, that’s a big lesson to learn! I have to relearn it really often too. lol!

      Thankfully the friends I had over, our “family” from Arkansas, are here to see me, not my house. That’s a good thing. It takes all the pressure off of having a perfect house. Now, if I could just carry that feeling over to anyone who visits, I’d open my house a whole lot more. I am learning that life is all about relationships. It’s not the stuff, not the events but the relationships that are created, maintained and enjoyed through it all. πŸ˜€

      Well you enjoy your life too! Thanks for the supportive comments dear friend! πŸ™‚ You be nice to yourself too. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

