Fit Friday

I spoke of making muffins for freezing last week. The main reason I do this is for my boys. They both love muffin cupcakes (as they are called in our house). I like them too but the fat content of many of the recipes I have is very high. I’ve been looking around the great world wide web to find substitutions that would bring the fat content down yet retain the moist yummy muffin quality that we all enjoy.

I’ve found the following websites:

  • Butter Replacements – ideas on how to replace butter in baking. I like the fact that this website discusses what butter is used for and how to best replace it.
  • food subs – This site discuss substituting fats more in depth then the previous site but has different substitution ingredients.
  • Dairy free cooking – I like the thought of taking all dairy out of baking. I need to read through this site a little more thoroughly. The information that I have read so far is thought provoking.
  • Healthy baking 101 – A thorough page about this bakers experience with reducing butter in a butter based cake recipe.
That’s what I’ve found for now. I have yet to try some of these techniques out since my freezer is very full of muffins already. Have you tried reducing the fat in your baking? What have been your best successes or what failed?
About madebyalh

I am a daughter of God, military spouse, mother of two and one who must do some sort of crafty thing daily.
This entry was posted in Healthy Eating. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

